Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
George Mason University Antonin Scalia Law School

Virginia Legal Materials

Virginia History

  • EphemeraBroadside Collection includes printed ephemera like broadsides, wills, political statements, and theatre bills.
  • Historical BooksRare Book Digital Collection includes over 50,000 titles, including early Virginia imprints.
  • Historical NewspapersVirginia Chronicle contains digitized historical Virginia newspapers.
  • Manuscripts and Archival Collections
    • Virginia Company Archives (Mason users only) includes collection of the Ferrar Papers (1590-1790) and Records of the Virginia Company of London (1606-1624), documenting the founding and economic development of Virginia, the settlement of North America from Jamestown to the Bermudas, trade between Britain and America, the ethnic and gender composition of early Virginia, and tensions among the colonists and of early relations with Native Americans.
    • Virginia Heritage contains finding aids for information about manuscripts and archival collections across various Virginia repositories.
  • Other Digital Collections. The Library of Virginia's digital collections cover topics like Virginia History and Culture; Biographical and Genealogical; Maps and Architecture; County and City Research; Historic Virginia Government; and Land Office Patents & Grants.