Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
George Mason University Antonin Scalia Law School

Federal Tax Law

A basic guide to United States Federal tax meterials.

Electronic Resources ..

The databases below provide access to primary and secondary federal tax materials. 

  • Bloomberg Law: Tax Practice Center brings together all of BNA and Bloomberg Law's materials on taxes: federal, employee benefits, estate planning, state, and international. Materials include laws, regulations, and treaties, congressional materials, court opinions, BNA Law Reports, books and treatises, journals, news, and more. Bloomberg login required.

  • Commerce Clearing House (CCH) Tax Research Network contains tax news and federal and state tax information. Included are tax codes, regulations, court cases, rulings, legislative documents, treaties, IRS publications, and CCH explanations and analyses. See Reference staff for assistance.

  • Lexis Advance (Mason Law users only).  Practice Area > Tax Law


  • PLI Discover Plus is the online platform for the Practicing Law Institute's treatises, handbooks, and forms. Includes:
    • Internal Revenue Service Practice and Procedure Deskbook, by Erin M. Colllins & Edward M. Robbins.

  • Thomson Reuters Checkpoint (Formerly RIA Checkpoint) contains a substantial collection of primary tax materials, including tax legislation and IRS materials. In addition, Thomson Reuters Checkpoint provides full-text access to several journals from WG&L and Thomson Reuters, current news about tax legislation, and case law.

  • Westlaw (Mason Law users only)
    • Practice Area > Tax