Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
George Mason University Antonin Scalia Law School

Journals

Access information and finding tools by broad subject areas.

Arts & Humanities Sources

Art Index Retrospective
Coverage: 1929-1984. Provides access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.


Art & Architecture Source
Coverage: varies. Database covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It provides full text access to journals and books; an image collection, art reproduction records, and includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch.


Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Coverage: 1934-present, with selective coverage back to 1741; Updated weekly. Provides a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. It contains more than 440,000 entries from over 700U.S. and international journals.


ComAbstracts
Coverage: 1979-present. Contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field.


Communication & Mass Media Complete
Coverage: 1915-present. Provides indexing, abstracting, and some full text for journals and books related to communication and mass media studies.


Communication Abstracts
Coverage: 1977-present. Comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a worldwide scale. Covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources.


Film & Television Literature Index
Coverage: 1980-present, with some content as early as 1865. Provides indexing for over 350 publications, including books, magazines, and journals covering the entire field of television and film writing. Covered subjects include film and television theory, preservation, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.


Humanities International Complete
Coverage: 1925-present.  Provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Offers indexing for over 2,000 journals, books, and other publications, with full text for over 700 of them.


International Bibliography of Art
Coverage: 1973-present; Updated quarterly.  The definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, and the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art. Covers European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial period to the present, global art since 1945, fine art, decorative arts and antiques, museum studies and conservation, archeology and material culture, folk art, and architectural history.


Web of Science
Coverage: varies.  Contains citations and searchable author abstracts. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1900+); Social Sciences Citation Index (1900+); Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975+); Book Citation Index (2005+); Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+); Current Chemical Reactions (1985+); and Index Chemicus (1993+).