Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
George Mason University Antonin Scalia Law School

Journals

Access information and finding tools by broad subject areas.

Science, Tech, Engineering & Math (STEM) Sources

ACM - Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library
Coverage: varies. Citations and full-text articles in the area of computing and information technologies from journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the ACM, one of the world's largest computing societies.

ACS Publications
Coverage: varies. Includes full-text articles from all 34 American Chemical Society publications, from the broad coverage journals such as the Journal of the American Chemical Society to the specialist journals such as Environmental Science and Technology.

ASCE Digital Library-Civil Engineering Database
Coverage: 1970-present; Updated monthly. Indexes articles from all of the journals published by the American Society of Civil Engineers. Full-text articles are available from 1983-present.

American Institute of Physics Journals 
Coverage: varies. Includes full-text access to select AIP journals that deal with physics, mathematics, and chemistry, to which George Mason subscribes.

American Mathematical Society (AMS) Journals
Coverage: varies. Full-text access to all 8 journals published by the AMS.

American Physical Society (APS) Journals
Coverage: varies. Includes full-text access to all eight journals of the APS, including Physical Review (Parts A-E), Physical Review Letters, and Reviews of Modern Physics.

Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Coverage: 1983-present. Abstracts and indexes periodicals covering the fields of engineering, aeronautics, chemistry, computer technology and applications, earth sciences, energy and environment, mathematics, metallurgy, and physics with full text from 1997-present.

BioMed Central
Coverage: varies. A publisher of over 200 peer-reviewed, open access journals in primarily the biological and medical sciences.

BioOne
Coverage: varies. Includes a broad selection of full-text, peer-reviewed journals and bulletins published by American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS) member societies and other closely related organizations.

BioOne Abstracts & Indexes
Coverage: 1998-present. An indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts developed by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), the University of Kansas, the Greater Western Library Alliance, and Allen Press. Provides 100 high-impact bioscience research journals from around 70 publishers.

Biological Abstracts
Coverage: 1969-present. An index with abstracts to periodicals in the life sciences. Covers over 6,500 serials, as well as technical notes and letters.

BIOSIS Previews
Coverage: 1926-present. Comprehensive reference database in the life sciences. Covers articles from over 7,000 journals, as well as original research reports and reviews, letters, and technical data reports.

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Coverage: varies. Includes indexing and abstracts for academic journals, professional publications, and reference sources. Subject areas include engineering, computer theory and systems, new technologies, and social and professional context.

Computer and Information Systems Abstracts
Coverage: 1981-present. Covers major areas of computer technology (artificial intelligence, automation, CAD/CAM, imaging, logic, engineering physics, and more).

Environment Complete
Coverage: 1940s-present. Covers the areas of ecosystem ecology, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. Contains full text for more than 600 journals and 100 books, and indexes over 1,500 journals.

GeoScienceWorld
Coverage: varies. Provides full-text access to over 30 core journals from a variety of geoscience publishers.

Highwire Press
Coverage: varies. Includes journals from the fields of science, technology, and medicine.

IEEE/IET Electronic Library 
Coverage: varies. Provides full-text access to all journals, transactions, and conference proceedings published by the electrical engineering organizations IEEE and IET.

INSPEC
Coverage: varies. Scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing and control, and information technology.

Institute of Physics Journals
Coverage: varies. Includes full-text access to select IoP journals to which George Mason subscribes. Abstracts are available for all other journals.

Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts
Coverage: 1966-present. Provides indexing and abstracts from current serial and non-serial titles. Includes records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports, with indexing back to the early 1960s. It covers all mechanical engineering and transportation engineering aspects from aerospace to automotive.

Nature
Coverage: varies. Provides full-text, archived access to 15 Nature Publishing Group journals, along with access to the current issues of several other NPG titles.

Proceedings of the Institution of Civil Engineering (ICE) - Bridge Engineering
Coverage: 2003-present. Provides articles from Bridge Engineering, a peer-review publication that covers developments in bridge engineering, including topics such as the design, construction, maintenance, management, monitoring, and upgrading of all types of bridge structures. Includes state-of-the-art papers, reviews of current methodologies and systems, project case studies, historical papers, and shorter briefing papers.

Proceedings of the Institution of Civil Engineering (ICE) - Geotechnical Engineering
Coverage: 1994-present. Includes technical papers compiled in Geotechnical Engineering, covering all aspects of geotechnical research, design, construction, and performance. 

Proceedings of the Institution of Civil Engineering (ICE) - Urban Design and Planning
Coverage: 2008-present. Includes refereed papers and short articles, published in the Journal from the Institution of Civil Engineering, on the design and planning of the built environment, emphasizing the interfaces between urban policy, design, construction, and management.

ProQuest Aquatic Science Collection
Coverage: varies. Contains full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA).

ProQuest Atmospheric Science Collection
Coverage: varies. Contains full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA).

ProQuest Biological Science Collection
Coverage: varies. Contains full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Biological Sciences database. Biological Sciences provides access to literature from serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs, and selected books and patents.

Public Library of Science
Coverage: varies. Public Library of Science (PLoS) is an open access publisher of two online full-text, peer-reviewed journals: PLoS Biology and PLoS Medicine, publishing research articles in all areas of biology and medicine.

ScienceDirect
Coverage: varies. Provides online access (searching and browsing) to over 1,600 journals published by Elsevier and its partners. Journals are available for most disciplines, including science, medicine, economics, and the social sciences.

SPIN Web
Coverage: varies. Provided by the American Institute of Physics. The SPIN database (Searchable Physics Information Notices) provides the most current indexing and abstracting of major American and Russian physics and astronomy journals.

Web of Science
Coverage: varies. Contains citations and searchable author abstracts. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1900+); Social Sciences Citation Index (1900+); Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975+); Book Citation Index (2005+); Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+); Current Chemical Reactions (1985+); and Index Chemicus (1993+).