Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Federal Primary Materials

Welcome to the Federal Primary Materials guide!

The United States Constitution creates a federal government comprised of three separate and equal branches, and each are sources of law: legislative, executive, and judicial.  In addition to the information below, the Law Library of Congress provides a helpful guide to federal legal materials.