Chisum on Patents, by Donald S. Chisum (Lexis) Arguably the most respected patent law treatise.
Moy’s Walker on Patents, by Professor R. Carl Moy (Westlaw) Provides a thorough analysis of patent law.
Patent Law Fundamentals, by John Gladstone Mills III et al (Westlaw) Eschewing the minutia, this treatise offers an excellent overview of patent law.
Schwartz's Patent Law and Practice (Ninth Edition), by Robert J. Goldman (Bloomberg) Conceived as a concise yet comprehensive guide to patent law for federal judges, this work has been cited by courts over 100 times since initial publication.
Patent Law a Practitioners Guide (Fourth Edition), by Robert B. Hildreth and David Aker (PLI) A practical resource designed to guide practitioners through complex patent issues from applications through litigation. This source contains forms, flowcharts, diagrams and hypos (with answers) to enhance the understanding of challenging aspects of patent law.
Patent Office Rules and Practice, by Lester S. Horwitz et al (Lexis) Practice focused guide on the ins and outs of patent filing and review at the USPTO.
Patent Prosecution: Law, Practice, and Procedure, by Irah H. Donner (Bloomberg) A work focused on the process of establishing patentability before the USTPO (i.e. patent prosecution).
Anatomy of a Patent Case (Fourth Edition), American College of Trial Lawyers, Complex Litigation Committee (Bloomberg) A concise overview of what’s required to bring a patent case to trial.
Patent Litigation Strategies Handbook, William P. Atkins and Deborah E. Fishman eds.(Bloomberg) Provides strategic advice on all areas of the patent litigation process from both the patent owners and challengers perspectives.
The America Invents Act: A Guide to Patent Litigation and Patent Procedure (Westlaw) Covers the changes made to patent law by the America Invents Act (AIA).
Annotated Patent Digest (Matthews) (Westlaw) Summaries and analysis of U.S. patent law related decisions, covering cases from 1998 onward.
Biotechnology & the Law, by Iver P. Cooper (Westlaw) A work focused the requirements of patenting biotechnology.
Baxter World Patent Law & Practice, by J.W. Baxter and John P. Sinnott (Lexis) Covers the patenting process for all industrialized nations.
Figures of Invention: A History of Modern Patent Law, by Alain Pottage and Brad Sherman. KF3114 .P685 2010. (Also available online).
For electronic copies of historical treatises, please see Eighteenth Century Collections Online (1701-1800) and Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises (1800-1926).
In addition to the treatises listed here, Westlaw and Lexis both have subject pages that link to additional materials. It may also help to look for resources on other sites. Bloomberg Law has a decent collection of patent materials on its “Patents & Trade Secrets” page. PLI Plus also has a variety of patent treatises, handbooks, checklists, and other useful secondary sources.
