Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Copyright

This guide lists and describes helpful resources to consider when conducting copyright law research.

Treatises

Copyright Treatises

General

TOP TREATISE — Nimmer on Copyright (Lexis) A treatise frequently cited by courts and viewed as an authoritative guide to copyright law.

Patry on Copyright (Westlaw) Another treatise often cited by courts that offers an extensive discussion of copyright law.

Copyright Law Deskbook (Bloomberg) Practice focused reference that uses cases to illustrate how courts are interpreting various provisions of copyright law. (Make sure to check “current through” in the table of contents, as of this writing the last update was April 2018)

The Law of Copyright (Westlaw) This title includes discussions of the history and arguments behind copyright and may be useful in developing unique arguments.

Specific Copyright Topics

Kohn on Music Licensing (Wolters Kluwer – Cheetah platform) An excellent practice-oriented guide with step-by-step descriptions of the various music licensing processes.

Music and Copyright (Lexis) A resource that provides guidance on the music infringement litigation process from start to finish.

Lindey on Entertainment, Publishing & the Arts (Westlaw) This treatise covers all areas of entertainment including discussion of copyright.

Patry on Fair Use (Westlaw) A treatise with in-depth discussion of copyright’s fair use doctrine.

Copyright Law in Business & Practice (Westlaw) Practice oriented treatise covering all areas of copyright with sections on software, databases, and semiconductor chips.

Copyright Registration Practice (Westlaw) As the title indicates, this book focuses on all aspects of the copyright registration process.

Copyright Throughout the World (Westlaw) Provides coverage of the copyright laws of over 25 nations, including China, Japan, Germany, France, Russia, and the UK.

International Copyright Law and Practice (Lexis) Coverage of international copyright laws for the EU and several other nations, including China, Japan, Israel, and more.

Historical Resources

The Author's Due: Printing and the Prehistory of Copyright, by Joseph Loewenstein. Z325 .L84 2002.  

For electronic copies of historical treatises, please see Eighteenth Century Collections Online (1701-1800) and Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises (1800-1926).