LibGuides: Virginia Legal Materials: Practice Materials

Virginia Procedure & Practice

Bryson on Virginia Civil Procedure by William Hamilton Bryson
Call Number: KFV2930 .B74 2017. RESERVE and Range 204 (Virginia Materials).
ISBN: 1558345612
Also available online on Lexis (Scalia Law users only).
Civil Discovery in Virginia by Wyatt B. Durrette, Jr.
Call Number: KFV2937 .C582. RESERVE.
Enforcement of Judgments and Liens in Virginia by Doug Rendleman
Call Number: KFV2951 .R46 2014. Range 204 (Virginia Materials).
ISBN: 9781632812957
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Also available on Lexis (Scalia Law users only).
Friend's Virginia Pleading and Practice by Charles E. Friend
Call Number: KFV2930 .F75 2017 RESERVE.
ISBN: 1558348042
Also available online on Lexis (Scalia Law users only).
The Law of Evidence in Virginia by Charles E. Friend
Call Number: KFV2940 .F7 2012. RESERVE and Range 204 (Virginia Materials).
Also available online on Lexis (Scalia Law users only).
The Law of Damages in Virginia by Guilford D. Ware and W. Ryan Snow, eds.
Call Number: KFV2595 .L39. RESERVE.
Virginia Civil Benchbook for Judges and Lawyers
Call Number: KFV2928 .V57. RESERVE.
Also available online on Lexis (Scalia Law users only).
Virginia Civil Procedure by Kent Sinclair and Leigh B. Middleditch
Call Number: KFV2930 .S57 2014. RESERVE and Range 204 (Virginia Materials).
Also available online on Lexis (Scalia Law users only).
Virginia Criminal Benchbook for Judges and Lawyers
Call Number: KFV2975 .V58 RESERVE.
Also available on Lexis (Scalia Law users only).
Virginia Criminal Law and Procedure by John L. Costello
Call Number: KFV2961 .C68 2008. RESERVE and Range 204 (Virginia Materials)
ISBN: 1422421937
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Also available online on Lexis (Scalia Law users only).
Virginia Law and Practice: A Handbook for Attorneys
Call Number: KFV2480 .V57 2020. RESERVE.
The Virginia Lawyer: A Deskbook for Practitioners
Call Number: KFV2477 .V4684. RESERVE.
Virginia Practice
Call Number: KFV2480 .V5. 2017
Print available in Range 203 (2nd floor). Contains 16 volumes and index, and covers various areas of practice. Also available online on Westlaw (Scalia Law users only).
Virginia Remedies by John L. Costello
Call Number: KFV2947 .C67 2011. RESERVE.
ISBN: 9781422499641
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Also available online on Lexis (Scalia Law users only).
Virginia Sentencing Guidelines
Call Number: KFV2983.2.A15 V574. RESERVE and Range 204 (Virginia Materials).

Continuing Legal Education (CLE)

Virginia CLE
Range 203 (Virginia Materials) - most recent five years. Materials from Virginia CLE courses on topics such as Community Associations, Employment, Family Law, Estate Planning, Landlord-Tenant, Motor Vehicle Accidents, and many other practice areas. Often includes forms. Please use the catalog to find relevant CLEs. Search in the author field for “Virginia CLE” or “Virginia Law Foundation Committee on Continuing Legal Education”.

Forms

Virginia Forms by Frank J. Gallo; Barbara G. Gallo; W. Clyde Gouldman; Amy M. Hess; Lexis Law Publishing Staff
Call Number: KFV2468 .V57. Range 201 (Virginia Materials) and 101 (Virginia Quick Reference Materials).
ISBN: 9780872158160
The Virginia Lawyer: A Deskbook for Practitioners
Call Number: Virginia CLE. KFV2477 .V468. RESERVE.
Forms are available on CD-ROM.
Michie's Forms on Disc
Call Number: KFV2468 .M53. RESERVE.

Virginia Legal Forms Library (Gale)
(Scalia Law users only) Virginia Legal Forms Library contains a comprehensive collection of several thousand legal forms, including business, personal, litigation and federal forms. Forms are officially approved forms actually used by law firms. Completed sample forms are also included.

Jury Instructions

Virginia Model Jury Instructions-Civil
Call Number: KFV2983 .A65 M5. RESERVE and Range 204 (Virginia Materials).
Also available on Lexis (Scalia Law users only).
Virginia Model Jury Instructions-Criminal
Call Number: KFV2983 .A65 M5. RESERVE and Range 201 (Virginia Materials).
Also available on Lexis (Scalia Law users only).
Jury Instructions
Call Number: KFV2480 V5 v. 4. RESERVE and Range 201.

Law Directories

Martindale-Hubbell
Search for lawyers, law firms, and organizations.

Virginia Listings - LexisNexis Law Directory. Available on Lexis (Scalia Law users only).
West Legal Directory: Virginia. Available on Westlaw (Scalia Law users only).

Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility

Rules of Professional Conduct. The text of the Rules of Professional Conduct is in Volume 11, Part 6, Section II of the Code of Virginia, Ranges 201-202 (Virginia Materials) and 101 (Virginia Quick Reference Materials). The text of these rules is also available on Westlaw in the West's Annotated Code of Virginia database, the Lexis Code of Virginia (Annotated) database (Scalia Law and onl-site users only), and in the BloombergLaw Code of Virginia database (Scalia Law users only). The current text is also available from the Virginia State Bar.
Legal Ethics Opinions. Contained in the Code of Virginia, Ranges 201-202 (Virginia Materials) and 102 (Virginia Quick Reference Materials). Also available at Virginia Legal Ethics Opinions List back to 1980, Lexis back to 1980 (Scalia Law users only), ABA/BNA-Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct back to 1986 (Scalia Law and on-site users only), and Westlaw back to 1988 (Scalia Law and on-site users only).
Judicial Ethics Advisory Committee Opinions. Available on Westlaw (Scalia Law and on-site users only), Lexis (Scalia Law users only), and Virginia’s Judicial System.
Lawyer Advertising Opinions. Contained in the Code of Virginia, Ranges 201-202 (Virginia Materials) and 102 (Virginia Quick Reference Materials). Also available at Lawyer Advertising Opinions.
Unauthorized Practice of Law Opinions. Contained in the Code of Virginia, Ranges 201-202 (Virginia Materials) and 102 (Virginia Quick Reference Materials). Also available at UPL Opinions On-Line.