LibGuides: Virginia Legal Materials: Virginia History

Virginia History

Archive of Virginia Websites. Virginia Web Archive preserves websites of the Virginia state government, political office holders and candidates, and select organizations.
Biographical Directory of Virginia Judges.
- Supreme Court of Virginia Justices, 1779-present provides biographical information on each justice who has served on the Supreme Court of Virginia since 1779.
- Court of Appeal of Virginia Judges, 1985-present offers biographical information on the judges who have served on the Court of Appeals of Virginia since it began operation on January 1, 1985.

Ephemera. Broadside Collection includes printed ephemera like broadsides, wills, political statements, and theatre bills.
Historical Books. Rare Book Digital Collection includes over 50,000 titles, including early Virginia imprints.
Historical Newspapers. Virginia Chronicle contains digitized historical Virginia newspapers.
Manuscripts and Archival Collections.
- Virginia Company Archives (Mason users only) includes collection of the Ferrar Papers (1590-1790) and Records of the Virginia Company of London (1606-1624), documenting the founding and economic development of Virginia, the settlement of North America from Jamestown to the Bermudas, trade between Britain and America, the ethnic and gender composition of early Virginia, and tensions among the colonists and of early relations with Native Americans.
Other Digital Collections. The Library of Virginia's digital collections cover topics like Virginia History and Culture; Biographical and Genealogical; Maps and Architecture; County and City Research; Historic Virginia Government; and Land Office Patents & Grants.