LibGuides: Virginia Legal Materials: Legislative Materials

Code of Virginia

Code of Virginia 1950
- Code of Virginia (Annotated), is available in print in Range 203, call no. KFV 2430 1950 (Virginia Materials on the 2nd floor of the library).
- The Code of Virginia is also available online through Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law. (Scalia Law users only).
- Code of Virginia Online Database. Available from Virginia's Legislative Information System. This version of the Code of Virginia is unannotated.
Codes of Virginia 1919, 1887, 1849, and 1819, and Interim Codes, Range 203 (Virginia Materials) and Special Collections. Superseded editions are also available on HeinOnline (Scalia Law and on-site users only). The Code of Virginia is also retained in microfiche format from 1849 to present (microforms are available on the 4th floor of the library, please ask for help at the circulation desk).

Acts of the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Virginia, Range 202 (Virginia Materials on the 2nd floor of the library). These are the session laws generated by the legislature of the state of Virginia.
The Acts are available online through:
- HeinOnline - back to 1776.
- Virginia’s Legislative Information System- back to 1994.
- Bloomberg Law- back to 1999.
- Lexis- has the full text of bills pending in the current legislative session back through 1992.
- Westlaw - has acts passed by the Virginia General Assembly going back to the 1990 Regular and First Special Sessions.
Colonial era session laws are available through:
- Hening's Statutes at Large - 1618-1823, Range 203 (Virginia Materials on the 2nd floor of the library). Covers 1619 to 1792. Also available on HeinOnline (Mason and on-site users only).

Journal of the House of Delegates of the Commonwealth of Virginia, Range 202 (Virginia Materials). Commonly referred to as the House Journal, this contains the daily proceedings of the Virginia House of Delegates, including bill tracking, debates, etc. Selected volumes are also available on LLMC Digital (Scalia Law and on-site users only), HathiTrust, Internet Archive, and Google Books.
Journal of the Senate of the Commonwealth of Virginia, Range 202 (Virginia Materials). Commonly referred to as the Senate Journal, this contains the daily proceedings of the Virginia Senate, including bill tracking, debates, etc. Selected volumes are also available on LLMC Digital (Scalia Law and on-site users only), HathiTrust, Internet Archive, and Google Books.
House and Senate Documents, Ranges 202-203 (Virginia Materials). Reports prepared for the Governor and the General Assembly. Also available from 1897 to present at Reports to the General Assembly. Selected volumes are available on LLMC Digital (Scalia Law and on-site users only).