Personal Papers
Print:
Collected works of American statesmen are available on the third floor of the Law Library in Range 301. Search for titles in the Mason Library Catalog.
- Papers of John Adams, Robert J. Taylor, ed. E302 .A26.
- Papers of Andrew Jackson, Sam B. Smith and Harriet Chappell Owsley, eds. E302 .J35 1980.
- Correspondence and Public Papers of John Jay, Henry P. Johnston, ed. E302 .J42
- Papers of Thomas Jefferson, Julian P. Boyd, ed. E302 .J56.
- Papers of James Madison, William T. Hutchinson and William M.E. Rachal, eds. E302 .M19.
- Papers of John Marshall, Herbert A. Johnson, ed. E302 .M365
- Papers of George Mason, 1725-1792. Robert A. Rutland, ed. E302 .M38 1970.
- Papers of James Monroe, Daniel Preston, ed. E302 .M74 2003.
Online Databases:
- Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises - Includes published papers, correspondence, speeches, etc. of important figures like John Jay, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, George Mason, George Washington, and Daniel Webster.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online - Provides access to unique primary source materials, including papers of British statesmen, politicians, and prime ministers; and papers and diaries of women from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century.
- Papers of John Adams Digital Edition- Comprises John Adams’s complete diaries, selected legal papers, and the ongoing series of family correspondence and state papers.
- Papers of Alexander Hamilton Digital Edition- Encompasses ten different volumes.
- Papers of Andrew Jackson Digital Edition - Includes an archive of Andrew Jackson's papers.
- Papers of Thomas Jefferson Digital Edition - Provides 33 volumes of Thomas Jefferson's writings.
- Papers of Dolley Madison Digital Edition - Includes a total of 964 documents through April 1837.
- Papers of James Madison Digital Edition - Encompasses five different series, sorted by volumes
- Papers of Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney Horry- Presents over 750 items of correspondence and other documents, including their letters, diaries, travel journals, and recipes, of two founding-era women.
- Papers of George Washington Digital Edition- Encompasses five separate series and the complete diaries.
Internet Resources:
- Accessing the Papers of Supreme Court Justices: Online & Other Resources - Guide to online and print collections of Supreme Court Justices’ papers, compiled by SCOTUSblog.
- Correspondence of James K. Polk - Collection from the James K. Polk Project at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville includes documents on the politics, diplomacy, economics, science, and culture of the antebellum.
- Founders Online - Collection from the National Archives and University of Virginia includes correspondence and writings of the six major founders of the United States: George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison.
- Harvard Law School Library Online Collections:
- Library of Congress Manuscript Division Finding Aids Online - Finding aids to the collections at the Library of Congress Manuscript Division, which includes presidential papers, papers of government officials, and other notable figures in political, cultural, and scientific history.
- Library of Congress Online Collections:
- Frederick Douglass Papers - Contains approximately 7,400 items from 1841 to 1964.
- Thomas Jefferson Papers - Consists of approximately 27,000 documents from 1606 to 1827 from the Manuscript Division at the Library of Congress.
- Abraham Lincoln Papers - Consists of approximately 20,000 documents from 1850 to 1865 from the Library of Congress Manuscript Division and Lincoln Studies Center at Knox College.
- James Madison Papers - Consists of approximately 12,000 items from 1723 to 1836 from the Manuscript Division at the Library of Congress.
- Library of Virginia Online Collections:
Presidential Papers
Print:
U.S. Presidents’ messages and other executive papers are available on the first floor of the Law Library in Range 101 and on the third floor in Range 304. Search for titles in the Mason Library Catalog.
Online Databases:
