Skip to Main Content

Library & Technology Services

A resource guide with information about accessing electronic resources and Law Library and Technology services.

Law Library Hours

Welcome to the Law Library! Please present your ID at the Circulation Desk. All IDs will be checked at the Circulation Desk.

SUMMER HOURS

Monday, May 13 - Tuesday, July 2

Monday - Thursday 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday & Sunday 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Memorial Day

Sunday, May 26 CLOSED
Monday, May 27 CLOSED

Juneteenth

Wednesday, June 19 CLOSED

Early July & Independence Day

Wednesday, July 3 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday, July 4 CLOSED
Friday, July 5 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sat. & Sun., July 6 & 7 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Summer Exams

Monday, July 8 - Tuesday, July 30

Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday & Sunday 10:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Summer Intersession

Wednesday, July 31 - Friday, August 9

Monday - Friday 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday & Sunday CLOSED

 

Library Policies

  • Please carry your GMU ID with you, and present your ID to the Circulation Desk every time you enter the Library.
  • The law library is generally a space for quiet study and research. 
  • Law students working in groups may reserve group Study rooms using the online Reservation system.
  • Speak on your cellphone in the stairwell or the Atrium, not in Library study areas.
  • Eating is prohibited in the Library. Drinks are permitted only in containers with lids.
  • Library and technology staff may have conversations with each other and patrons as part of providing service and supporting research. Points of service are located on the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Floors. The 4th floor has no service points and may be quieter than floors with service points. Kindly let staff know if their conversations are disruptive.
  • Email any concerns about the Library environment to Associate Dean Melanie Knapp
  • Attorneys and alumni visiting the Library MUST present a valid ID. Your status as an attorney or alumni will be verified before you are allowed to enter the Library. We strongly encourage attorneys and alums to contact lawref@gmu.edu before you visit to ensure that we have the materials that you need. Additional policies may be found here.