Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library & Technology Services

A resource guide with information about accessing electronic resources and Law Library and Technology services.

Law Library Hours

Welcome to the Law Library! Please present your ID at the Circulation Desk. All IDs will be checked at the Circulation Desk.


Spring Exams, Tuesday, April 26 - Tuesday, May 10

Monday-Thursday 8:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Friday 8:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Saturday 10:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Sunday 10:00 AM - 2:00 AM

Makeup Exams/Intersession/Graduation

Wednesday, May 11 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday, May 12 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday, May 13 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday, May 14 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday, May 15 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Summer Semester, Monday May 16 - Saturday, July 2

Monday-Thursday  9:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Friday 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday & Sunday 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Summer Holidays

Memorial Day
Sunday, May 29 CLOSED
Monday, May 30 CLOSED
Juneteenth
Sunday, June 19 CLOSED
Monday, June 20 CLOSED
Independence Day
Sunday, July 3 CLOSED
Monday, July 4 CLOSED

Summer Exams, Tuesday, July 5 - Tuesday, July 26

Monday-Friday 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday & Sunday 10:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Summer Intersession, Wednesday, July 27 - Sunday, August 14

Monday-Friday 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday & Sunday CLOSED

Posted hours are subject to change as public health and safety circumstances change. 

Current Library Policies

University Policy about COVID-19 is changing rapidly at this time. Please visit the Law School's COVID-19 page for the latest information. 

At this time, the Law Library expects the following so that the Library is safe for all.

  • Please carry your GMU ID with you, and present your ID to the Circulation Desk every time you enter the Library.
  • Law students may reserve group Study rooms using the online Reservation system.
  • Eating is prohibited in the Library. Drinks are permitted only in containers with lids. Speak on your cellphone in the stairwell or the Atrium, not in Library study areas.
  • Complete the Mason Daily Health Check every day. You may be asked by anyone on campus at any time to show your health check status.
  • Email any concerns about the Library environment to Melanie Knapp
  • Attorneys and alumni visiting the Library MUST complete the Mason Daily Health Check. When entering the Library, all attorneys and alumni MUST present: a valid ID and the results of the Mason Daily Health Check. Your status as an attorney or alumni will be verified before you are allowed to enter the Library. We strongly encourage attorneys and alums to contact lawref@gmu.edu before you visit to ensure that we have the materials that you need.

Law Library Reference Hours

Law library reference and research assistance will be available in person in the Reference Office, by e-mail (lawref@gmu.edu)voicemail with callback (703-993-8076), and virtual meetings using Zoom or Teams.

For Summer 2022, Reference Librarians are available on-campus during the following hours:

Monday-Friday 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday, Sunday Closed