Some of the most important treaties governing International Commercial Arbitration relate to international commercial transactions and/or the enforcement of arbitral awards. Examples include the 1980 Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG), and the 1958 Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards (a/k/a the New York Convention). International Commercial Arbitration can be brought about in several different forums, including the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID), and the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD). More information on these disputes and their forums are in the below resources. Please note that many International Commercial Arbitration awards remain unpublished.
Scalia Law Databases that Include the Text of Decisions
- Investor-State Law Guide
Contains a comprehensive disputes library, as well as a robust treaty and rules library. To access ISLG content, all Mason users must first select "Login," and then click "Auto Login" on the home screen. Next, select "Continue with the NEW ISLG". Investor-State LawGuide (ISLG) is a comprehensive research database for international investment treaty law materials. The ISLG site also features advanced research tools, with reports powered by industry-leading legal analytics, document comparison tools, and more.
- Kluwer Arbitration
An online resource for international arbitration research that contains the full text of almost 1,700 Bilateral Investment Treaties; over 5,400 court decisions and 1,800 arbitral awards; Kluwer Law International arbitration materials, both books and journals, and over 600 laws for key jurisdictions. Please note: Kluwer Arbitration is nestled under International Securities & Business on the content tree. Also note: The database requires you to register to access the site using your Mason email. Library visitors who are not a current law faculty, staff, or student can see a librarian to be logged in.
- Westlaw
Westlaw's International Arbitration Awards database has selected coverage arbitral decisions issued under the rules of several major institutions, including the ICC and LCIA. Dates of coverage vary by arbitral institution.
Westlaw's International Arbitration Cases database has selected cases from the EU, Hong Kong, U.S. and U.K.
Other Resources
- CISG Database
Large Collection of national cases and arbitral awards related to CISG
- CLOUT (Case Law on UNCITRAL Texts)
This database contains information about cases and arbitral awards that interpret model laws and treaties that have emanated from UNCITRAL.
- ICSID Cases
Publicly available ICSID cases.
- Investment Treaty Arbitration
Access to publicly available investment treaty awards
- Juris International's Directory of Dispute Resolution Centres
This is a comprehensive directory of institutions that handle international commercial arbitration. Some of the most well-known organizations on this list include the Arbitration Institute of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce (SCC), European Court of Arbitration (ECA), Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre (HKIAC), the International Centre for Dispute Resolution (ICDR), and Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA)..
- Online Guide to the New York Convention
This is a partnership between the United Nations Conference on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL), Shearman & Sterling, and Columbia Law School. It contains information about the Convention, the provisions of the treaty, the jurisdictions, cases, and a helpful library of other information.
- United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL)
UNCITRAL formulates harmonized rules on commercial transactions, including conventions, model laws and rules which are acceptable worldwide, and legal and legislative guides. This website provides updated information on case law and enactments of uniform commercial law, technical assistance in law reform projects, and regional and national seminars on uniform commercial law, as well as other information.
