Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
George Mason University Antonin Scalia Law School

Journals

Access information and finding tools by broad subject areas.

Social Science Sources

America: History and Life.  Coverage: 1910-present. Provides English-language abstracts of scholarly literature (journal articles, articles in collections, dissertations, book and media reviews) on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada with full-text links to JSTOR.


Anthropology Plus. Coverage: varies (late 19th century - present). An index of bibliographic materials combining Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the U.K. Provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.


AnthroSource. Coverage: varies. Developed by the American Anthropological Association and the University of California Press, AnthroSource is a digital archive of all AAA journals, newsletters, and bulletins. Current issues of 15 publications are available from AnthroSource, and earlier issues of 5 journals are available through JSTOR.  Subject covered include archaeology, biological anthropology, cultural anthropology, and linguistics.


GenderWatch. Coverage: 1970-present. A full-text database containing scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports focused on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years.


Index Islamicus . Coverage: 1906-present; Updated annually. Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Includes written work about the Middle East,as well as works on main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works, and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed at the article and chapter level.


ProQuest Social Science Journals. Coverage: varies. Offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, and provides coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.


Race Relations Abstracts. Coverage: 1975-present. Provides abstracts covering areas relevant to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, and immigration studies. 


Social Services Abstracts . Coverage: 1979-present. Coverage of current research on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Abstracts and indexes serials publications, includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and provides citations to book reviews.


Social Work Abstracts. Coverage: 1965-present. Contains more than 26,000 records from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, substance abuse, and more.


SocINDEX. Coverage: 1895-present. Provides access to journals, books, dissertations, reports, conference proceedings, and more on all sub-disciplines of sociology and closely related areas of study. 


Urban Studies Abstracts. Coverage: 1973-present. Includes abstracts to journal articles covering areas related to the study of cities and regions, including topics in urban affairs, community development, and urban history. 


Web of Science. Coverage: varies. Contains citations and searchable author abstracts. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1900+); Social Sciences Citation Index (1900+); Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975+); Book Citation Index (2005+); Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+); Current Chemical Reactions (1985+); and Index Chemicus (1993+).


Women's Studies International. Coverage: 1972-present. Covers the core disciplines in women’s studies, including feminist research. Areas covered include sociology, history, political science and economy, public policy, international relations, and education. Sources include over 2,000 periodicals, and other sources such as newspapers, newsletters, books, book chapters, proceedings, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, and other grey literature.